Trekking in Everest Region
It is popularly known as Khumbu region that falls under Sagarmatha National Park. Sagarmatha National Park is listed as natural heritage list by UNESCO. Sagarmatha National Park is distributed at an area of 1148 square kilometers. Elevation ranges from 2845 meters to 8848 meters (Mount Everest). Majority of population in this region are Sherpas who are also nicknamed as Himalayan tigers.

Buddhism is the main religion of this area. There are some spectacular Monasteries in this region. The spectacular views of mountains, glaciers, astonishing landscapes, bio diverse flora and fauna, splendid hospitality of Sherpas, colorful houses, unique culture and traditions makes Khumbu region a master piece on Earth. Four mountains above 8000 meters are located in this region. Some of the mountains that lie in this region are Mount Everest, Gokyo Peak, Mera Peak, Lhotse, Nuptse, Amadablam, Iland Peak, Thamserku, Khangtenga and Mount Pumori. 118 species of birds are found in this region. Some of them are Blood pheasant, Red –billed chough, Danfe, Himalayan Munal, etc. The animals that are found in this region are Red panda, Himalayan Black Bear, Langur monkey, Himalayan musk deer, deer, blue sheep, Himalayan Thar, Tiger, Snow leopard, etc. the vegetation found in this area are birch, juniper, blue pines, firs, Bamboo, Rhododendron, etc. In the higher altitudes, only moss, lichens and thorny plants are found.

Trekking in this region has to be initiated with a flight to Lukla. The other alternative trial starts from Jiri but it takes 4-5 days to reach Phakding. Some of the trekking trails tailored by Plan Nepal Travel and Tours are

  • Instant Everest Trek
  • Everest Panorama Trek
  • Everest Base Camp Trek
  • The Khumbu Traverse