Salyan District is a "hill" district some 320 km west of Kathmandu in Rapti Zone of Nepal's Mid-Western Region. Salyan covers an area of 1,462 km² with a population of 213,500 in 2001 and 241,716 in 2011. The district's administrative center is named Salyan or Salyan Khalanga.

The district is known for its Hindu temples including Shiva temples in Chhayachhetra and Laxmipur, and the Devi temple at Khairabang in Hiwalcha VDC, one of nine in Nepal.